[lopsa-discuss] Domain recovery

Gilbert Wilson gilbert.wilson at gmail.com
Mon Dec 12 11:06:31 PST 2005


All,

One of my tennant organization's has no idea where or how to control
their domain name.  The domain is scoville.org

Out of the goodness of my heart I said I would help, not realizing
exactly what I was getting involved in.

I did a whois of the domain and here is the whoafully outdated output I got:

Domain ID:D1492483-LROR
Domain Name:SCOVILLE.ORG
Created On:26-Jun-1998 04:00:00 UTC
Last Updated On:23-Oct-2004 01:39:40 UTC
Expiration Date:25-Jun-2006 04:00:00 UTC
Sponsoring Registrar:Network Solutions LLC (R63-LROR)
Status:CLIENT TRANSFER PROHIBITED
Registrant ID:30871938-NSI
Registrant Name:Scoville Peace Fellowship
Registrant Organization:Scoville Peace Fellowship
Registrant Street1:110 Maryland Avenue
Registrant Street2:NE#201
Registrant Street3:
Registrant City:WASHINGTON
Registrant State/Province:DC
Registrant Postal Code:20002
Registrant Country:US
Registrant Phone:+1.20254607
Registrant Phone Ext.:
Registrant FAX:
Registrant FAX Ext.:
Registrant Email:scott at REFLECTOR.NET
Admin ID:30871940-NSI
Admin Name:Scoville Peace Fellowship
Admin Organization:Scoville Peace Fellowship
Admin Street1:110 Maryland Avenue
Admin Street2:NE#201
Admin Street3:
Admin City:WASHINGTON,
Admin State/Province:DC
Admin Postal Code:20002
Admin Country:US
Admin Phone:+1.20254607
Admin Phone Ext.:
Admin FAX:
Admin FAX Ext.:
Admin Email:scott at REFLECTOR.NET
Tech ID:31642187-NSI
Tech Name:Remove User
Tech Organization:Tokunaga, Tetsushi
Tech Street1:1-51-1 Hatsudai Shibuya-ku
Tech Street2:
Tech Street3:
Tech City:Tokyo
Tech State/Province:Tokyo
Tech Postal Code:34471
Tech Country:JP
Tech Phone:+1.81353583601
Tech Phone Ext.:
Tech FAX:+1.9999999999
Tech FAX Ext.:
Tech Email:tokunaga at technoweb.com
Name Server:NS.NAMESERVERS.NET
Name Server:NS2.NAMESERVERS.NET

(whois -i doesn't help much either, the administrative contact is
listed as the old sys admin and he claims to know nothing about it)

They have no idea why the tech contact is in Japan, and the person at
Verio (where their site is hosted) was not at all helpful.  Is there
any way to track down and recapture control of this domain name?  The
registrant email bounces back and I'd rather not email Japan,
especially when it smells funny.  What/where should I look?

Gil

--
Gilbert Wilson <gilbert at watchhouse.org>

Statesmen will invent cheap lies, putting blame upon the nation that
is attacked, and every man will be glad of those conscience-soothing
falsities, and will diligently study them, and refuse to examine any
refutations of them; and thus he will by and by convince himself that
the war is just, and will thank God for the better sleep he enjoys
after this process of grotesque self-deception.

  - Mark Twain, "Chronicle of Young Satan"



More information about the Discuss mailing list